Frequently Asked Questions

Everyone comes into a game with their own sets of assumptions based on past gaming experience, and something that may have seemed intuitive to our playtesters may not be obvious to someone coming from a different gaming background. As questions come up, we will add clarification below.

Spending resources

Resources are spent like currency, rather than acting as a maximum purchase cost. When purchasing a unit during the acquisition phase, return a number of resources equal to the cost of the unit to the resource pool. Any unspent resources stay in your personal stash to be used in future rounds.

The number of resources each player has is open information - that is, each player should be able to see how many resources their opponent has available at any time.

Discarding, Drawing, and the Deck

Your deck will always start with 7 cards. On your first conquest phase, you will be drawing five to use as your hand. When those units are destroyed, or at the end of the phase, those 5 cards will go to your discard pile.

Any cards that are purchased during the acquisition phase also go into your discard pile.

Your discard pile is shuffled together to create a new deck only when your deck has run out of cards.

For example: when you go to draw cards for the second round, you should have 2 cards remaining in your deck. Draw those, then shuffle your discard pile (which includes your cards used in round one, plus any cards you purchased) and this becomes your new deck. Draw the remaining 3 cards you need for a full hand of five from the new deck.

'Moving' Units

There are two instances where a card may be 'moved':

  • Using the Heavy Lifter before deploying a card for the turn to move a unit that you deployed previously
  • Using the Scout Car's ability to move it in response to an opponent deploying a unit at the same location

In both cases, the unit being moved does not count as being deployed at the new location, nor does it get to make attacks again. It does not trigger retaliate damage or roll for minefields at the new location. In the case of the Scout Car, since the movement happens prior to the enemy unit declaring attacks, it may still be possible for the Scout Car to be the target of attacks if the enemy unit being deployed has weapons usable at Medium range.

What is Face-Up?

Players play with their hands hidden from the other player. Like all card games, any decks that you are drawing from (your personal deck, the location deck, etc.) are stacked face-down. The discard piles should be kept face-up to avoid confusing them for your deck.

Errata

In the event that a particular rule is causing the game not to function as intended, it will be addressed here.